Xtra Factor’s Sarah-Jane Crawford: ‘Simon Cowell Likes People With Balls’

simon cowell with sarah-jane Crawford

Xtra Factor host Sarah-Jane Crawford has spoken about her audition in front of Simon Cowell.

The 29-year-old met Cowell in his dressing room at Fountain Studios, and was advised by Sinitta to prove she had “balls” in order to land the job.

She told The Sun on Sunday‘s Fabulous magazine: “Diptyque candles were burning everywhere, there was a big screen where he was watching Cheryl [Fernandez-Versini’s] rehearsal, a plate of carrot crudités were on the side and he was smoking a menthol cigarette. I was like, ‘This is f**king bizarre!’.

“[Sinitta] had said that Simon likes people with balls and had told me, ‘Just say, “Darling, where’s my contract?”‘ But instead, I said, ‘Well, you [had] better sign me quick’.”

The BBC Radio 1Xtra DJ confessed that she “cried with happiness” when her agent called with her job offer.

“When my agent called, I was so happy I was sobbing. It was crazy. I’ve never cried with happiness before,” she said.

Crawford added that she has already been on the receiving end of Cowell’s sharp tongue.

She explained: “On the first day of filming I made the judges do a group prayer, and Mel [B] said, ‘It’s your first day, too. You need good luck.’

“Then Simon went, ‘Yeah, what’s the worst thing that can happen? You f**k it up and you have no career,’ and walked out. It was one of those Simon Cowell moments that you have to laugh at.”

The X Factor and  Xtra Factor return on Saturday 30th August.

Leave a Reply

